Header Image 1

Our History

160th Year Anniversary of St. Mary's School  1863 - 2023

On the 2nd of November 1863 St Mary’s Catholic Primary School first opened its doors to the pupils of Studley.

Things have changed a great deal since those times but many of the traditions and practices still remain to this day. Fifteen head teachers and two world wars have come and gone and in 1975 the school moved from its original site on Church St to Pool Road.

Luckily our school still retains the original log books and a huge amount of our social history has been obtained from them. Coupled together with information and photographs supplied from parents, parishioners and the Studley Historical Society our teachers and staff have managed to bring to life some of the fascinating local stories and history of our school.


History of St Mary's Presentation 2023